Friday, September 5, 2014

The Agincourt Bride
by Joanna Hickson

Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 578
Format: ARC
Buy the Book: Amazon

Goodreads:  The epic story of the queen who founded the Tudor dynasty, told through the eyes of her loyal nursemaid. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.

When her own first child is tragically still-born, the young Mette is pressed into service as a wet-nurse at the court of the mad king, Charles VI of France. Her young charge is the princess, Catherine de Valois, caught up in the turbulence and chaos of life at court.

Mette and the child forge a bond, one that transcends Mette’s lowly position.
But as Catherine approaches womanhood, her unique position seals her fate as a pawn between two powerful dynasties. Her brother, The Dauphin and the dark and sinister, Duke of Burgundy will both use Catherine to further the cause of France.

Catherine is powerless to stop them, but with the French defeat at the Battle of Agincourt, the tables turn and suddenly her currency has never been higher. But can Mette protect Catherine from forces at court who seek to harm her or will her loyalty to Catherine place her in even greater danger?


Kritters Thoughts:  What an epic book!  Starting with the narrator giving quite an intro and then the book completely jumps into the childhood of a princess who we all come to find out quickly will be influential in her country's future.  France is literally balancing on her shoulders.

First, let me rave about how I loved the narrator and it was fantastic to read a book from this period from the perspective of a close maid who even spent nights in the Princess' rooms.  She had a unique perspective and she was able to use the Princess' unmailed letters to fill in the story - genius.  Of course there was drama, but there was also some fantastically intense scenes that just kept the book moving along and along.  

The one thing that kept tripping me up was the concept of three different opposing parties instead of just two and I had to remind myself who did and didn't like who, but once I got it - the book just kept getting better and better.  

Quite the chunky book, but I wouldn't take one page out of it.  I appreciated reading a full story of Princess Catherine in just one book instead of separating it into bits and pieces.  I will be on the lookout for the next book by Joanna Hickson.


Rating: definitely a good read, but can't read two in a row

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one copy of this book free of charge from TLC Book Tours.  I was not required to write a positive review in exchange for receipt of the book; rather, the opinions expressed in this review are my own.




1 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 

Copyright 2010 Kritters Ramblings.

Theme by WordpressCenter.com.
Blogger Template by Beta Templates.