Monday, November 12, 2018

You Were Always Mine
by Nicole Baart

Publisher: Atria Books
Pages: 384
Format: book
Buy the Book: Amazon

Goodreads:  Jessica Chamberlain, newly separated and living with her two sons in a small Iowa town, can’t believe that a tragedy in another state could have anything to do with her. But when her phone rings one quiet morning, her world is shattered. As she tries to pick up the pieces and make sense of what went wrong, Jess begins to realize that a tragic death is just the beginning. Soon she is caught in a web of lies and half-truths—and she’s horrified to learn that everything leads back to her seven-year-old adopted son, Gabriel.

Years ago, Gabe’s birth mother requested a closed adoption and Jessica was more than happy to comply. But when her house is broken into and she discovers a clue that suggests her estranged husband was in close contact with Gabe’s biological mother, she vows to uncover the truth at any cost. A harrowing story of tenacious love and heartbreaking betrayal, You Were Always Mine is about the wars we wage to keep the ones we love close, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.
 


Kritters Thoughts:  A mystery thriller that at the same time as keeping the reader guessing also informed me about an interesting side of adoption in our country.  

Jessica Chamberlain has recently separated from her husband due to an extreme rough patch in their marriage.  In the first few chapters she is informed that he has passed away and things could possibly be a little shady.  She tries to comfort her two sons while at the same time getting a few mysteries solved.

I have to be honest and say that I guessed the culprit a bit early on and was disappointed when I got it right so fast.  There were a few things that stuck out and helped me nab the killer pretty quickly.  It made me sad, but didn't ruin the reading experience because there was more than a mystery in this book.  

The thing that made me love this book so much was what I learned about adoption.  I appreciated reading about a family that had one natural born child and one adopted and watching a mom care and love for both sons.  I loved reading about how she navigated this family and was able to take care of both boys and their individual needs to their age and personalities.  

I am planning on passing this book onto the readers in my life who are more slow to pick up a mystery, but who really enjoy a good family drama.


Rating: absolutely loved it and want a sequel

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one copy of this book free of charge from TLC Book Tours.  I was not required to write a positive review in exchange for receipt of the book; rather, the opinions expressed in this review are my own.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 

Copyright 2010 Kritters Ramblings.

Theme by WordpressCenter.com.
Blogger Template by Beta Templates.